Profile Picture

Crystal Dawn

security_checkedFlag
map_pinТурция
11:46 AM (GMT+03:00)
class
Английский
user_group_man_woman
1
time
1
class
Английский
user_group_man_woman
1
time
1

Язык(-и) общения

Итальянский
A1
,
Испанский
A1
,
Турецкий

Обо мне

Hello! My name is Crystal. I am an American native English speaker and a TEFL certified English Teacher. I am currently living in Turkey, but I am from the US state of Wisconsin, which is in the cold and snowy north part of America. I have been teaching online for about a year and a half through various websites. I have taught over 6,000 lessons on another website. I also taught many in person, often improvised and usually informal, lessons while traveling in Italy, Romania, and Turkey for the past year and a half.

I work well with students of all ages and have taught students from as young as 3 years old to about 70 years old. Also lots of ages in between! I am also able to work with all English ability levels as well. Some of my students started out as complete beginners, only knowing a few words in English, while others were already advanced English speakers who just need conversation practice to keep their skill levels up and their pronunciation abilities good.

I have taught students from all over the world, from many different countries and cultures. That is one of the things I LOVE about teaching online! I am able to learn something new every day from my students about their countries and cultures while I help them learn English.

Before teaching online, I tutored high school and college students in person for about 3 years while I was in college. This was in various subjects, but mostly English and History. I also ran my own small home child care center for a while, and took some Early Childhood Education courses. So I am great with children.

Lessons I teach will be tailored to the students' individual needs as much as possible. Once I know the student's goals or reasons for learning English, and a little bit about them as a person, I can recommend lessons I believe will achieve these goals, and focus on their interests to keep learning fun. I like using word games whenever possible, even with adults, to practice different skills. I am also good at determining when something is not working for a student, and improvising the lesson to make it more effective for the student.

Some personal info about me and my interests:
I have a Bachelor of Arts degree with a double major in History and Humanistic Studies, with an Ancient and Medieval emphasis, from the University of Wisconsin Green Bay. I graduated in May 2015 with High Honors status. I am a member of Phi Kappa Phi Academic Honor Society.

I LOVE animals and could talk about them for days! My two cute cats often make an appearance during lessons. But I always try to check to see if the student is OK with cats before that happens. I also LOVE to read almost anything, but my favorite is Historical Fiction. I like drawing, painting, and many other forms of art. I like movies as well, especially Historical Fiction and supernatural type of movies. I am very interested in history, especially ancient and medieval related topics. I enjoy talking about world news and events too, though I do not know a lot about politics.

In the past year and a half I spent most of my time traveling to different countries to experience different cultures. I spent three months in beautiful, historical, sunny Italy. I traveled from there to Scotland by car, through France and Switzerland (that was quite a road trip). Then I spent a couple months of the summer in cold, rainy, but also beautiful and wild, Scotland. After that, I went to spend some time in another place with beautiful sunny weather, amazing history and culture, and incredible coastal cities with turquoise waters, and friendly people... Turkey!

I stayed in Turkey for about a month and a half, and fell in love with the beautiful city of Izmir, on Turkey's west coast. Then I had to go back to the US for my brothers wedding, but after 6 months back in the US, I left again for Romania in April. I spent a month volunteer teaching an adorable little girl in Bucharest, and seeing historical things and places of Romania. I did NOT find Dracula... Of course, then I went back to Izmir, Turkey. I have been in Turkey ever since, always learning new and interesting things about the country, it's people, and it's amazing culture!

Индивидуальные уроки

60 минут

Статистика учителя

watchОчень быстро
timetable10 месяцев назад
place_marker100.00%
class1
class_blackboard0.0 уроков в среднем
filled_starНовый учитель

Расписание

Опыт и знания в обучении

Начальный
Выше начального
Средний
Выше среднего
Продвинутый
Суперпродвинутый
American English

Резюме

schoolОбразование

2011 - 2015
B.A. History & Humanistic Studies
University of Wisconsin - Green Bay - Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Double major: History and Humanistic Studies, Ancient & Medieval emphasis. Humanistic Studies is the study of people and cultures, it is considered an "interdisciplinary major" because it requires courses from a variety of subjects, such as, English, History, Archaeology, Anthropology, Art, Religion, and languages.

diploma_2Сертификаты

2017 - 2017
TEFL Certification
i - To - i TEFL - Leeds, England
Training and certification to teach English as a foreign language, to non-native English speakers. The certification course consists of 120 hours and includes 3 parts; Lesson Planning, Lesson Content, and Lesson Delivery. It also covers the topics of Classroom Management and Helping Students Learn.

Просмотрите профили других учителей, выбрав нужный аспект:

Индивидуальные уроки

60 минут